Package Harry Potter 1 -7 !!!

Harry Potter Paperback Boxed Set (Books 1-7) (Paperback)

Now for the first time ever, J.K. Rowling’s seven bestselling Harry Potter books are available in a stunning paperback boxed set! The Harry Potter series has been hailed as “one for the ages” by Stephen King and “a spellbinding saga’ .... Find out more

Friday, January 28, 2011

Switched (Trylle Trilogy, Book 1)

Switched

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn't until eleven years later that Wendy finds out her mother might've been telling the truth.
With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed - and it's one she's not sure if she wants to be a part of.

Customer Reviews

Not my typical reading, but enjoyable light reading!4
Hocking has an uncanny ability to write fascinating little stories that are compellingly addicting. Her books are not my typical reading fare - I tend more toward the adult mysteries and suspense type of thing - however ever since I picked up Hocking's My Blood Approves series, I've been strangely addicted to her work. The Trylle series is no exception. Now, I may not fall in the typical readership for Hocking's books, but because I work as a Probation Officer for teenagers, I tend to read a lot of YA fiction to keep "in touch" with what my kids enjoy.
Hocking's three-part Trylle series, of which Switched is number one, is about a girl who has a miserable existance. Her childhood is filled with little oddities that don't make much sense, and her mother, who refers to her as a "monster" goes so far as to try to stab her to death at her own birthday party. Switched is so much a coming of age tale - with a twist - as Wendy soon discovers that she has another life waiting for her discovery and that she is so much more than an angst filled teenager stuck in high school.
I won't give away any more, as part of the joy of reading this book is discovering - right along with Wendy - just what in the heck is wrong with her and why she has all these odd little habits, abilities and thoughts.
This is not a literary masterpiece for your college Women's Literature 101 class. It was not intended to be so. It is not filled with symbolism and fodder for critical discussion. It IS, however, fun, light reading that will keep your attention. It is a sweet story. Hocking has captured a believable and realistic teenage heroine. She's captured appropriate action, adventure, and even romantic tension. For those reviewers who say the teenage angst is overblown...I would disagree. I work with teenagers for a living and the internal and external dialogue is actually quite realistic for the age group. Perphaps not ALL teens think this way, but the ones I work with quite often do. Many teens - especially girls with abusive backgrounds and lack of a stable parent figure like Wendy - DO think and act this way, althought many of them would be hard pressed to publically admit it.
I've given Switched four stars, not because it isn't excellent, but because I save my five star reviews for books that are out of this world wonderful or books that really speak to me emotionally. This one is excellent, but it is not the definition of perfect. There are a few typos, but they are easily overlooked.
Overall, excellent book. Excellent and believable plot. An overall wonderfully creative and engaging book. Nice job, Amanda - I'm off to purchase #2 in the series and I am looking forward to discovering more.

Find out more @ Switched (Trylle Trilogy, Book 1)

read more “Switched (Trylle Trilogy, Book 1)”

Sunday, October 3, 2010

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.

Customer Reviews
Perfect Kindle mysteries at the perfect price!5
This free Kindle download is the prelude to The Return of Sherlock Holmes. Arthur Conan Doyle's timeless tales are perfect for Kindle and, actually, the Kindle's electronic voice does an admirable job of reading them to you!

Special thanks to Eileen T for posting the list of stories contained within!

The only downside to this free Kindle download is that it doesn't have linked Table of Contents. So how do you quickly skip to a chapter later in the book?

Elementary my dear Watson! (-:

Pick a unique word from the story title. Click MENU > "Search this book"
Then type the most unique words from the title. Alas, this doesn't always work, and I can't figure out why. A new mystery! In the meantime, enjoy the classics....

Find out more @ The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
read more “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes”

Monday, November 23, 2009

Patch (Breyer Stablemates) (Hardcover)


In New Friends, Lauren and her Pinto, Patch,

meet Sarah and her Palomino, Gold Charm.

Sarah is stuck-up and doesn't like Lauren and Patch.

But a walk in the woods and a spooky surprise

teach Sarah the true meaning of friendship.

For years, Breyer has been known for making high-quality collectible horses. Stablemates are low-priced, durable horses created especially for children.

Customer Reviews
Perfect for my 4 yr old horse crazy girl!,
By K. Miner

I was SO happy when I saw these adorable, well priced books at the store! Picked them both up--these are great books for younger children! We have Pony Pals books but those are larger chapter books geared towared older children (8-10rys). These Stablemates books have beautiful, full color illustrations that cover every page with large,easy to read print. These do have chapters, but they are short--these are perfect for reading to your little pre-schooler and perfect for the beginner readers! My daughter and I LOVE these books and can't wait for more editions to be released! We will definitely be purchasing more!

Find out more @ Patch (Breyer Stablemates)
read more “Patch (Breyer Stablemates) (Hardcover)”

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Diamond (Stablemates) (Hardcover)


Diamond is an Arabian horse that no one wants to ride because they think she is too old. Ava decides to take care of Diamond, spending extra time on training rides to get her in shape. The other riders don’t understand why Ava would waste her time with such an old horse, but Ava and Diamond show them that they have a lot to learn.

Customer Reviews
this book will draw them to reading, November 13, 2009
By Evelina (Long Island, NY USA)

Both my daughters love horses and books from the Stablemates series realy helped the older one (now 8) to start reading on her own couple of years ago. Now I still buy the newly published books in hopes they will do the same thing for my younger daughter next year. she is 6 now and already trying to read them now, but they are probably more suitable for second graders since they are chapter books.

Find out more @ Diamond (Stablemates)
read more “Diamond (Stablemates) (Hardcover)”

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Penny (Stablemates) (Hardcover)


It's the day of Princess Isabella's coronation, and her fairy godmother sends her on a quest to help her become a good queen. At first, Isabella isn't sure which horse to pick. The fastest? The biggest? She decides on Penny, the smartest horse in the stable.

Together, Isabella and Penny set out on a journey to find twelve jewels. On the way, Isabella learns that the keys to being a good queen are inside her--kindness, courage, and wisdom!

Customer Reviews
Penny, January 11, 2009
By Rachel Thibodeau (Sterling, CT USA)

My 6 yr old daughter is reading this whole series and I think they are wonderful because the reading is challenging but the pictures make her really interested. Definately worth the money!

Find out more @ Penny (Stablemates)
read more “Penny (Stablemates) (Hardcover)”

Friday, November 20, 2009

Starlight (Breyer Stablemates) (Hardcover)


In A Foal for Haley, Haley has her hands full

with Starlight, her mischievous, disobedient foal.

But one scary night, Starlight gets lost in the woods,

and Haley makes a special wish--to find her beloved foal.

Her wish comes true, and from then on they're friends forever.

For years, Breyer has been known for making high-quality collectible horses. Stablemates are low-priced, durable horses created especially for children.

Customer Reviews
Perfect for my 4 yr old horse crazy daughter!,
By K. Miner

I was SO happy when I saw these adorable, well priced books at the store! Picked them both up--these are great books for younger children! We have Pony Pals books but those are larger chapter books geared towared older children (8-10rys). These Stablemates books have beautiful, full color illustrations that cover every page with large,easy to read print. These do have chapters, but they are short--these are perfect for reading to your little pre-schooler and perfect for the beginner readers! My daughter and I LOVE these books and can't wait for more editions to be released! We will definitely be purchasing more!

Find out more @ Starlight (Breyer Stablemates)
read more “Starlight (Breyer Stablemates) (Hardcover)”

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Belle (Stablemates) (Hardcover)


Belle is a Quarter horse who lives in a big city park. Emmy is a shy young girl who has just moved to the big city from the country. Emmy is afraid of things in the city and needs a friend.

As Christmastime approaches, Emmy travels off path in the park, but Belle helps her find their way back to the stables safe and sound. Emmy begins to feel better about the city when her parents announce that her new present is Belle! Now they can be friends forever.

Customer Reviews
Excellent Series for Little Horse Lovers,
By C. Bate

My 3 year old daughter has the whole series and absolultely loves them. She's read them so many times that she's memorized many of them. The Belle book is a great Christmas story and also great to help any child through the transition of moving, especially if they're leaving a pet behind.

Find out more @ Belle (Stablemates)
read more “Belle (Stablemates) (Hardcover)”

Categories